Aaka Pande and Me2 Majumdar Memorial Award

Overview

The <u>Division of Health Policy and Insurance Research</u> (HPI) invites nominations for the Aaka Pande and Sumit Majumdar Memorial Award. The Award honors the inspirational lives and work of two former HPI fellows: Aakanksha Pande, BS, MS, PhD and Sumit 'Me2' Majumdar, MD, MPH, FRCPC whose lives tragically ended far too early.

Through the Aaka Pande and Sumit Majumdar Memorial Award, the Division recognizes annually the talents of outstanding research fellows who are making significant contributions to constructive health policy dialogue through exceptional papers, highly regarded blogs or op-eds.

Selection Criteria

Nominees must:

- 1. Be a current or former fellow in the Department of Population Medicine.
- 2. Have published or had accepted for publication in the 12 months before the annual award announcement an exceptional manuscript that presents or discusses evidence to inform health policy decisions; exceptional contributions include, but are not limited to, research reports or other publications that employ sound methods to generate important evidence for health policy decisions or writings that constructively highlight the need for or synthesize high-quality evidence.

In the spirit of Drs. Pande's and Majumdar's efforts, nominations by colleagues whose work demonstrates a commitment to improving equity or quality of health care are particularly welcome.

Nomination Process

Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated. The nomination requires a current curriculum vitae, a copy of **one** published or accepted policy dialogue contribution, and a letter of 500 words or less highlighting the health policy significance of the contribution and the candidate's commitment to health policy research or evidence-informed decision making. The candidate's contact information is required.

Please send nomination materials via email to Alyssa Burnett (alyssa burnett@hphci.harvard.edu).

Deadlines

Nominations for the Aaka Pande and Me2 Majumdar Memorial Award must be received by **April 30, 2025**. Nominations will be reviewed by the Award Committee Members and the awardee will be announced by the end of **July 2025**.

Review Committee Members

Hefei Wen, PhD Laura Garabedian, MPH, PhD Stephen Soumerai, ScD

Award

The Award winner will be announced widely, including through all DPM social media outlets and the Aaka Pande and Sumit Majumdar Memorial Award website.

For brief biographies of Drs. Pande and Majumdar, please see the <u>Award webpage</u>.